Vilhelm Moberg Statue/Vilhelm Moberg Park - Dedicated September 7, 1996. King Carl XVI Gustaf and Queen Silvia Royal Visit, September 13, 1996. Sculptor: Ian Dudley, Lindstöm, MN.
Vilhelm Mobergs Lodging, 1948 visit - Moberg stayed in this hotel while researching for his four-part Emigrant novels. On the N.E. Corner of Old Towne Road and Lake Ave. 29225 Old Towne Road. Private, view from street.
Zion Ev. Lutheran Church organized May, 1874. Open all year. 1-1/4 miles south of Highway 8 on Old Towne Road. 28005 Old Towne Road. Ph: 651- 257-2713.
Restaurants/Wine Hear and speak the old Småland, Swedish dialect. Stop in and say, "Goddag, Goddag." Wagon Wheel Restaurant in Chisago City, The Swedish Village Restaurant in Center City, The Swedish Inn, Lindström, and Meridee's Bistro, Lindström, on the Daniel Lindström homestead. WineHaven Winery, Chisago City, creator of the Honeywine presented to Their Majesties of Sweden. National and International Awards. 651-257-1017 website: www.winehaven.com
Old Swedish Barn Quilt Trail As part of the Chisago Lakes Community Foundation's "Life is GREAT on Highway 8" initiative www.lifeisgreatonhighway8.com, local artists have painted Swedish Barn Quilt Designs for 40 locations along U.S. Hwy. 8 from Chisago City to Taylors Falls. Self-guided tour. Info: www.clac-foundation.com and www.barnquiltsbyoaksy.com
Karl Oskar and Kristina Statue - Replica of the original statue in Karlshamn harbor, Sweden. Karl Oskar Nilsson and his wife Kristina are ficticious characters in the Moberg novels. Kristina is looking back to her homeland of Sweden and Karl Oskar is looking forward to the new land, "Amerika!" Boulder from Duvemåla (Småland) Sweden. Visit 'The Chisago County Press' newspaper office and view the desk Vilhelm Moberg used in 1948. Ted Norelius, editor at the time, became good friends with Moberg. Their friendship lasted until Moberg's death, 8/8/1973. Ted was the grandson of Erik Norelius from Hassela, Sweden.
Per Andersson, Daniel Lindström, Erik Norelius and Nellie Gustafson Statues - In 2013, sculptor, Ian Dudley, Lindström revealed four statues to honor Swedish pioneers. First, Nellie Gustafson, a mid-wife from Skåne, a courageous Swedish immigrant woman who came to the area. Her mid-wife kit is at the Chisago County Historical Society. Next, Per Andersson (Joris-Pelle Andersson), Per's half-brother Daniel Lindström and Erik Norelius, all from Hassela, Sweden. Per Andersson brought 100 Swedes from Hassela to the Kichi-Saga area in 1850. A real-life Karl Oskar Nilsson. Nellie?s statue is at the Chisago Lakes Library on U.S. Hwy. 8. The men are located on the north side of U.S. Hwy. 8 across from the Karl Oskar & Kristina Statue.(651) 257-1177.
Swedish Coffee Pot Water Tower - Main St. - 1908 water tower converted to a Swedish Coffee Pot in 1992, (cost of $18,650.00). Donated by Marlene Smith, Plastic Products Co. Inc., "Välkommen till Lindström...Where the Kaffe?s Always On!" ? Marlene Smith Statue, by Ian Dudley, 2016, across from Gustaf?s Gallery honoring Marlene Smith and her historic preservation of Chisago County. Tack Marlene!
The Swedish Flag on main street for Their Majesties Royal Visit on September 13, 1996. Also note the Emigrant Mural on the Bakery bldg., Home of the Scandinavian Donut...a must stop.
Fridhem, Home of Peace. 1898 tourist home. 1911, the home of Frank A. Larson, editor of the Svensk Amerikanska Tribunen published in Chicago, IL. On Nat'l.Reg. of Historic Places. 12625 Newell Ave.
Chisago County History Center - Chisago County research, library, publications, gifts. Open daily - limited hours. Third Ave. N. at Olinda Tr. www.chisagocountyhistory.org Ph: 651-257-5310.
Allemansrätt Swedish Heritage and Wilderness Park - Translation: Swedish right to roam in the wilderness with a "Do Not Disturb or Destroy Nature" philosophy. The City of Lindström aquired the 90 acres of wilderness, wetlands on private Bull Lake with donations. Then purchased the land from the Ted and Violet Norelius estate, Concordia University, and the Eugene Anderson Family properties (64 acres/homesteaded in the 1800s). Wooded areas of oaks, maples and basswood trees, much the same as when the Swedish emigrants first came to the Chisago Lakes area. Contact:City of Lindström: 651-257-0620.
c. 1879 Gustaf Anderson House - Gustaf came from Stockholm in 1864. Participated in the Montana Gold Rush and struck it rich! He was known as "Guldgubben" (The Old Gold Man) On National Register of Historic Places. 13045 Lake Blvd., Main St, 651-257-5310.
Gustafs Gallery - Swedish Art and Gifts, Main St. 651-257-2575.
The Sweet Swede Candy Shop - Known for their Lingonberry Fudge Main Street. www.thesweetswede.com
C.A. Victor House Charles A. Victor, from Småland, Sweden. Moved to Lindström in 1888, and in 1898 established the Medborgaren, "The Citizen," the first Chisago County Swedish language newspaper. Its circulation in the County was greater than the English version newspapers. On National Register of Historic Places. 30495 Park Street.
Trinity Ev. Lutheran Church - Born out of the desire of a congregation of Minnesota Lutherans to worship their God and hear his Word in the language of their new country-English. The congregational members broke from the Swedish speaking Center City (Chisago Lake Ev. Lutheran Church) and founded in 1901. First services at the Lindström Opera Hall. Then built the church at this current site in 1902. The original 1902 stained-glass windows are still there. English was the choice of the congregation, no Swedish, they were now Americans! Tours: 651- 257-5129
Nya Duvemåla (New Doves Home) In 1948, Moberg was inspired by this old house and created Karl Oskar & Kristina's fictitious home where they would live their final days. Kristina named it Nya Duvemåla after her home, Duvemåla, in Småland. King Carl XVI Gustaf and Queen Silvia visited, Sept. 13, 1996. Tours, 651-257-2519 or 651-257-5855. Tour charge. Directions: From Hwy. 8, South on Cty. Road 25, East on Glader Blvd. to Kichi-Saga Park. Bus parking. The Karl Oskar House was moved from original site 1/4 mile West to Kichi-Saga Park November, 1995. Dedicated June, 1996. Boulder from Carl-Werner Pettersson, Åseda (Småland), Sweden, transported to site via Volvo, Sweden.
Glader Cemetery - Oldest Swedish pioneer cemetery in Minnesota. Karl Oskar Nilsson and Kristina are fictionally buried here. Swedish Royal Visit on September 13, 1996. 1/8 mile east of Kichi-Saga Park on Glader Blvd. Parking on roadside.
Founders Monument Erik Ulrik Norberg spent the winter of 1850 here before guiding the Per Andersson group to Chisago Lake (Kichi- Saga) to establish Center City. Norberg Monument located in the parking lot of The Swedish Village Mall, Andrews Ave., on U.S. Hwy. 8.
Chisago Lake Ev. Lutheran Church - Organized May 12, 1854. Current structure built 1889. In 2006, Eric Carlisle hand-painted Sancturary for 150th Anniversary. See Archive Room, Swedish Historical Tapestry, Pioneer Cemetery, Per Berg’s Monument marking the site of the log barn where the first 100 Swedes organized. 75th Anniversary obelisk on the West lawn. Tours by appt., 651-257-6300. Charge. Open all year.
Government Center Court House - The first County Seat was moved from Taylors Falls in the 1860s to Center City because the roads "diverged to every part of the County from Center City." View Chisago County Historical Society exhibits in the lobby. Tour information, 651- 257-1300. 313 North Main Street.
Center City Historic District on Summit Avenue - Built and lived in by Swedish immigrant first and second generation families. Private Homes, view from street.
Chisago Lake...Kichi-Saga...The Big Lake...Swede Lake Native American Ojibwe/Chippewa, word meaning "Fair and Lovely Waters." Called "Buried Eagle Lake" by explorer J. Nicollet. Also known as "Swede Lake" by the first European settlers, and called "Chisago Lake" by W.H.C. Folsom from Taylors Falls. It was one large connected lake before the railroad split the lake into five separate lakes. Today known as North Center Lake, South Center Lake in Center City. North Lindström Lake, South Lindström Lake in Lindström, and Chisago Lake in Chisago City.
Hazelden - Betty Ford Foundation renowned rehabilitation center for chemical dependency. Started in 1949. Intersection of Hwy. 8 and Pleasant Valley Road, follow signs. Not open to the public, pre-arranged tours are available, 651-213-4264. Website: www.hazelden.org
Gammelgården Museum - A collection of Swedish log buildings, the 1856 Lutheran Church, Butik, Visitor Center, Swedish Classes and Kaffe Parties. Guided tours, charge 651-433- 5053. Located 1 mile south of Hwy. 97 and Washington Cty. #3 intersection. Follow signs.
Elim Lutheran Church - First known as Marine Mills Country Church. Organized May 19, 1854. Open all year. History room and tours by appointment, 651-433-2723.
The Scandia Cafe - Home cooking on Main St. 651-433-4054
Hay Lake School Museum, Swedish Log House and Historical 1900 Monument. Honors the first families that arrived in Scandia in 1850. Tours, 651-433-4014. One mile South of Gammelgården Museum on Cty. Rd. 3.
Jacob Pettersson House - From Dädesjö, Småland. Came to America in 1853. Was an entrepreneur and owner of the Jacob Peterson General Merchantile - the 2 story yellow building. Private Home,view from road. 30405 Ridgewood Ave.
c. 1869 Lars J. Thorsander House (Torsås Bondegård) - Country Bed & Breakfast since 1982. Immigrants from Östra Torsås Parish, Småland. Moberg visited this house in 1948 to deliver a wedding gift to Lois Anderson Barott. Original 1869 first home (log) still on property. Barn wood from the old Methodist Church Livery Stable, Center City, rebuilt on the original stone foundation 1938. 651-257-4773. website: www.countrybedandbreakfast.us Private Home, view from road. US Hwy. 8 and Cty. Rd. #21 intersection. North on #21 1.8 miles to Ranch Trail/320th St. (gravel). West 1 mile on Ranch Tr. to 320th St., #17038. 320th St. ~Välkommen till alla~
Paddle Boat Excursion Cruises - Daily May to mid Oct. Learn early history of the area from commentary and view first hand what the immigrants saw when they arrived. Historical markers. Group tours/reservations: 651-465-6315.
Minnesota Interstate State Park - The lower boat landing used by immigrants, world famous glacial potholes, hiking trails, camping and Visitor Center. Info, 651-465-5711.
1855 W.H.C. Folsom House Museum - On the Nat'l Reg. of Historic Places, a MN Historical Society site, the Folsom House sits among other homes in the Angel Hill Dist. Mr. Folsom was influential in the lumbering business, establishment of Taylors Falls and Chisago County. He helped to draft the MN Constitution and served as a State Legislator. He owned a great deal of land which immigrants rented. Tours: Memorial Day weekend through early October (Fri., Sat., Sun., and holidays), 1-4 p.m. on the hour. 272 W. Government St., $6 Adults, $5 Students & Vets, $4 kids 6-17, kids under 5 and MN Historial Society members free. Group tours available by appt. 651-465-3125. email@example.com or Folsom House Facebook page. Minnesota State Historical Society: www.mnhs.org/places/index.htm
Taylors Falls Historical Society Visitor Center - Located in the lower level of the Taylors Falls Memorial Community Center. Open Memorial Day- Labor Day from 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm. (Saturday and Sunday). 651-465-0443
c. 1854 Munch/Roos House - Oscar Roos, one of Minnesota's earliest Swedish settlers, was a dealer in private loans who aided hundreds of immigrant families to establish themselves. Private home, view from street. 190 Second St., east of Bench Street (Main St.). National Register of Historic Places.
1866 Hamilton House - Samuel Hamilton - State Immigrant Agent who helped many Swedish immigrants, providing temporary housing for new arrivals. Private home, view from street. 431 Bench St. (Main St.).
Stone Retaining Walls - Located behind the houses on the west side of Bench Street (Main Street), and in the Angel Hill Historic District. Built by Swedish immigrants in the Swedish tradition - no mortar. Private homes, view from street.
First Ev. (Swedish) Lutheran Church - Organized in 1860. Current structure built in 1903. History Room. Information: 651-465-5265. Location: 561 Chestnut Street.
The Emigrant Trail - Drive Cty. Rd. 37 West from Taylors Falls to Center City 7.2 mi. The first Emigrant Trail to the "Big Lake" Kichi-Saga area. Old farms, barns, scenic drive, paved road. Trailhead sign at the top of the hill on left!
Amador Heritage Center - Restored Swedish Log Cabin & artifacts. Open Sun. 1-4 p.m. Mid June to Sept. Tours: 651- 269-3580. Donation. Almelund Apple Festival - 3rd Sun. in Sept., 11 a.m.-4 p.m.
Immanuel Lutheran Church - Organized in 1887. Open all year. Historic cemetery. Information, 651-583-2340.
Wild River State Park - Early settlers lived along the Sunrise and St. Croix Rivers on land that would become part of the Park - including Ola & Judith Nelson (emigrated from Sweden 1869). The Nelsons' great-gandchild Senator Jerald Anderson authored the Park bill in the 1970s. Intersection of U.S. Hwy. 95 and Cty. Road #12. North on Cty. Road #12. See signs. Info: 651-583-2125.
Almelund Threshing Show Site: Historic Chisago County Court House, Shafer Township Clover Blossom School House at the Almelund Threshing Show Site. View from road. East of Almelund on Hwy. 95. 651-257-1264 or 651-303-9396.
Trinity Lutheran Church - Organized May 12, 1887. Current location: 38460 Lincoln Tr. (County Road 14) Original site at 6486 Elm St. Info: 651- 674-7047.
Soleil Levant Bed & Breakfast - (translation: Sun Rising) A three room main log cabin inhabited by Swedish families for many years. Disassembled from the Almelund area and reassembled at this location. Became a B&B in 1999. The B&B has a unique detached bathroom rebuilt from the Edith Granquist house in Shafer. Also near the historic Sunrise Cemetery. www.minnesotabedandbreakfasts.org -search by Soleil Levant name.
Century Farms of North Branch - Swedish Farms with over 100 years of continuous family occupancy. Drive by these private farms and see their beautiful farmlands.
Magnison Century Farm (address: 9383 - 375th St.) Alfred and Swen emigrated from Jeppahem, Östra Torsås, Småland, Sweden. Purchased 830 acres from the U.S. Government in 1885. Now farmed by 3rd & 4th generation members. Original house. Note the 40 ft. x 136 ft. barn built in 1914 with wood from the property.
Olson Century Farm (address: 39853 Forest Blvd.) Frank emigrated from Almeboda (Småland), Sweden in 1879. Purchased 40 acres originally, and more were purchased over the years to reach 320. The present owner is 5th generation and sons are the 6th generation now living on the homestead.
Fish Lake Lutheran Church - 7 miles West of North Branch. Watch for Cedar Crest Trail. Organized 1867. Land acquired from the Burlington Northern R.R., which encouraged Swedish immigration. Interior Swedish painted walls and ceiling. Original 1905 mural. Hultgren and Lane Tracker Organ. Tours: 651-674-4252, donation.